Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Walking is Healing

April 24 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am

“Rarely, if ever, are any of us healed in isolation. Healing is an act of communion.” – bell hooks

If you are like us, you are sitting with a deep ache in your heart. Just as we’d begun to shake off some of the weariness that we’ve held while watching the verdict come down in the murder of George Floyd, we see Ma’Kiah Bryant’s video pass through our timelines and read the news that a 16-yeard-old Black girl has been shot four times by police.

Sisters, we know this feels relentless. It is relentless. And that’s their strategy. The pressure is on to keep us in an exhaustive state of grief that robs us of our joy, our will to organize, and our collective faith. We must resist. And we must reject the urge to hold the rage. And we must keep moving forward with our collective healing as a people because on the other side of healing is liberation.

In that spirit, and in honoring GirlTrek’s legacy of healing Black women through the ancestral tradition of walking, you are invited to join us for a National Walk and Talk. Together we will spend 60 minutes moving through grief, honoring our dead, discussing the path forward, and connecting with the divine power that guides us all.

This virtual walk can be experienced from wherever you are and will be led by GirlTrek Co-Founders, Vanessa, and Morgan along with special guests.

WALK AND TALK
LIVE! 7am PT | 8am MT | 9am CT | 10am ET
Saturday April 24, 2021

Dial: 1 (646) 876-9923 CODE: 734464325
(+16468769923,,734464325#)
International? Find your dial-in number here.

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,
View Event Website

Venue

Online Event

Organizer

Girl Trek